Uncategorized

Microgreens: Is there a demand in an institutionalized setting?

Unknown

Microgreens, young vegetable greens, are all the rage! I first started hearing about them locally from the farmer circuit at conferences earlier this year. I have worked with microgreens for over a decade when I was in fine dining kitchens. I understood the application in that setting where they enhance flavor and stimulate visual appearance to those paying top dollar for their food. I never thought to apply/ grow them at our farm, primarily due to their high cost while working with meager budgets. Microgreens can be as expensive as $30/ 8oz, depending on the variety and where they are sourced.

After hearing farmer’s talk about trying to meet the demands of this new product I started to hear a few chefs within Hendrick House requesting them. I didn’t think there was enough interest to apply it to the 2017 crop so I invest a lot of energy into it.

IMG_7048

Towards the end of this growing season, we had some empty herb beds on the roof and I wanted to fill them with arugula. We were a little late in the season for them to mature to full size so what we got were microgreens. I harvested a small amount for my good friend and fellow chef, Kat, at Pi Beta Phi sorority. Kat, more affectionally known by the farm crew as Kitty meow, has been a huge supporter of the farm and is very knowledgeable about working with fresh produce. She was more than happy to test the arugula microgreens in a composed salad with red onion, feta, watermelon and balsamic reduction. I asked her to provide a very honest review from herself and the girls and she said they loved it!! I hope to sell the rest this week and maybe, after discussion at the 2018 chef workshops, this crop should be considered a contender after all.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

