Uncategorized

Sayonara Squash! It’s been real!

No more squash

No more squash

Adios Squash! You were of great value to me this year. When I planted you I had no idea that you would be such a work horse. You gave me almost 2,000 lbs of produce and I thank you greatly! Until next year my friend, well sort of my friend when you weren’t stinging the bejesus out of me and Sarah.

All Planted

All Planted

Broccoli

Broccoli

The farm is all planted for fall. It is such a good feeling to be prepared and ready this year. The extra land allowed me more space to grow a variety of seasonal “quick” crops that I could turn around for fall. Our broccoli has almost doubled in size from when we put it in the ground last week. It is always amazing to me how quickly everything can change in a matter of days. Planting into the landscape fabric worked perfectly, except for some minor drip tape repairs. I so desperately wish we would have used it in the spring but you live and learn and I will know now for next year.

Little Beet

Little Beet

The kale, chard and beets are coming along swimmingly. I found out that Sarah is a master fast weeder so she has been doing an amazing job keeping those beds nice.

Kale

Kale

Well I must admit I caught a lot of flack from the farmers for transplanting carrots. I was so disheartened in spring when the weeds took over the direct seeded beds that I vowed to transplant EVERYTHING! They turned out beautiful!! They are large and vibrant green. Because we planted in transplants, they did not have to be thinned and we can clearly decipher between plant and weed when doing maintenance to the bed top. It turned out to be a brilliant idea.

Carrot transplants ARE a good idea

Carrot transplants ARE a good idea

By taking on this farm project I have been wearing many different hats. Some days I am a farmer, some I’m an accountant, sometimes I’m a bookkeeper and sometimes I’m a chef. I must say, and you can ask Sarah, that I HATE being in front of a computer. It is sheer torture for me. I knew that I needed to find ways to market the farm this year and help get the word out to the clients. I came up with an idea to print postcards to pass out at the different accounts. Well, I have been working on this off and on for a good two months. I got the design I wanted, had some photography that I took of the farm and also knew what I wanted to say. For some reason I had trouble putting it all together. That is when my friends (and fellow incubator plot participant) the Kinkelaar’s told me one of their sons knew graphic design. Dustin helped me get my idea to the printer and it was absolutely beautiful! A million thank you’s to that amazingly talented family!! Here is the finished product:

IMG_0991 IMG_0992

Standard

Leave a comment